General information

Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic (NAR), Ministry of Emergency Situations (MES) was established by Decree No. 6. of the Chairman of the “Ali Majlis” (Supreme Assembly) of the NAR , dated December 30, 2005.

Regulations of the MES of the NAR were approved by Decree 27 of the Chairman of the Supreme Assembly of the Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic, dated 16 May 2006.

Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic
Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic (NAR, also called Nakhchivan ) is consisted of 7 administrative districts - Sharur, Babak, Ordubad, Julfa, Kangarli, Shahbuz, Sadarak.  Nakhchivan has 5 cities – Nakhchivan city, which is the capital of the NAR, Ordubad, Julfa, Sharur and Shahbuz. There are also 8 settlements and 206 villages within its occupation area.

Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic located in the south-east of the Caucasus Mountains.

The average altitude above sea level is 1450 meters.

The territory of NAR is located in a seismically active zone. It has areas risky with landslides and flooding.

Territory: 5502,75 km2

Population: 435400  (01.01.2014) 

Contacts of the MES of the NAR:

Phone: (036) 544-48-17

Fax: (036) 544-48-17



AZ 7000, Jalil Mammadguluzadeh, street, Nakhchivan city, Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic